2021 Young Writers' Competition for Schools

YWC Home Page slider.jpg

Young Writers' Competition 2021 Results


Theme: My Name is......

Winner.png Juniorjackets.png Seniorjackets.png

Overall winner:
Jonathan Esenga, Raynes Park High School

Read the Junior collection of short stories and poems online here

Buy the collection here.

Read the Senior collection of short stories and poems online here.

Buy the collection here.



KS3 Story
Molly Harrison, Ursuline High School
Runner Up:
Spencer Grine, Rutlish School

KS3 Poem
Winner & overall winner:
Jonathan Esenga, Raynes Park High School

Runners Up:
Ankit Mukherjee, King's College School
Izzy Reilly, Kingston Grammar School
Aanya Singh, Nonsuch High School

KS4 Story
Raven Harewood, Ursuline High School

Runner Up:
Sophie Zirps, Ursuline High School

KS4 Poem
Diya Asawa, Marymount International School
Giselle Gao, Marymount International

Runners Up:
Alice Lambert, Ursuline High School
Renee Trestyen, Ursuline High School
Martine Maugüé, Wimbledon High School Senior

KS5 Poem
Leah Wall, Ursuline High School

KS5 Story
Charlotte Lasrado, Ursuline High School

Runner Up
Jessica Payne, Blundell's School
Carmen Elise Gessell, The Tiffins Girls’ School


SEN Senior Category

Story Winners:
Callum Newell, Cricket Green School (SEN)
Yasir Zobiri, Perseid Primary School (SEN)

Poem Winner:
Ty Spellen, Cricket Green School (SEN)

Poem Runner up:
Olva Tchorz , Cricket Green School (SEN)



KS1 Story
Conrad Goh, Merton Park Primary School

Runner Up:
Giulio Formisano, Dundonald Primary School

KS1 Poem
Oscar Gao, Donhead Preparatory School

KS2 (junior) Story
Anjali Kanesarajah, Joseph Hood Primary School

KS2 (junior) Poem
Dhruv Gulati, Donhead Preparatory School

Runner Up
Zoe Wright, Dundonald Primary School
Daisy Graham, Pelham Primary School
Silvia Shea, Sacred Heart Primary School

KS2 (senior) Story
Michaela Wood, The Study Prep School

Runner Up:
Miri Canonica, Beecholme Primary School

KS2 (senior) Poem
Jamie Holloway, Donhead Preparatory School

Runner Up:
Preston Oheneba-Adu, Sherwood Primary School
Ciara O'Rourke, The Study Prep School

SEN Junior Category - Poem
Mirembe Kimuli, Cricket Green School (SEN)


Categories: Poetry & Prose Age Groups: 4-19 years split by key stage



Chair of Judges: Amy Waite, Research Fellow, University of Roehampton


Senior Schools Judges

Conrad Murray Writer, beatboxer, storyteller

Margaret Reeve Teacher & Educationalist

Patrice Lawrence Author

Sudha Bhuchar Author

Kwesi Omar Clarke-Andrews, MA student, Roehampton University


Junior Schools Judges

Julian Butler, Writer & Musician

Lindsey Barraclough, Author

Caroline Lawrence, Author
Sita Brahmachari, Author

Sarah Farmer, MA student, Roehampton University