Wimbledon BookFest Author Events for Schools

Wimbledon BookFest works with over 100 London schools. Teachers can email: Laura Byrne at education@wimbledonbookfest.org Click Here for more information on our Word Up Schools Programme.

Events for Schools at the Sunrise Festival on Wimbledon Common – June 2022

 

LennyHenry.png Sir Lenny Henry - Festival Opening Event - Years 4-5
Thursday 9 June 2022, 1.30-2.30pm

Baillie Gifford Big Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 includes a copy of The Boy With Wings RRP: £6.99

A one-off opportunity to attend an amazing event with the legendary Lenny Henry.

The Boy With Wings is the exciting first children’s book from the award-winning and much-loved author, comedian and actor, Lenny Henry. Illustrated throughout by Keenon Ferrell, it tells the fun-filled story of an ordinary boy who sprouts wings and sets out to save the world. This book offers heaps of fun, frolics and adventure and laughter is guaranteed so any young audience will be thrilled to attend.

Henry's first book for children is as funny as might be expected but it's also quietly thoughtful and poignant, examining ideas of heritage, family, love and belonging’ Books for Keeps

 


SimonFarnaby.png Simon Farnaby - Years 4-5
Friday 10 June 2022, 10.30-11.30am


Baillie Gifford Big Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 includes a copy of a The Warrior in My Wardrobe RRP: £6.99

The star of Horrible Histories and Ghosts, and writer of Paddington 2, showcases his wonderful new children’s book, The Warrior in My Wardrobe at BookFest.

Merdyn the Wild is the greatest Wizard of the Dark Ages. Rose is his 21st-century descendent. They’re on a time-travel adventure together. Expect magic and mayhem! Perfect for fans of David Walliams and David Baddiel. With a book so full of fun, history, friendship and adventure this event will prove to be a big hit with young and old alike!


 

JeanM.png Jean Menzies: Greek Myths - Year 4
Friday 10 June 2022, 10.30-11.30am


Robert Graves Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £15 includes a copy of a Greek Myths book RRP £16.99

An introduction to Ancient Greek mythology for children and one to inspire them for years to come.

This years’ Young Writers’ Competition, Chair of Judges joins the Festival line-up to host an event on Greek Myths. She will introduce children to a world of Greek gods and goddesses, heroes and heroines, extraordinary creatures and fantastic monsters awaits in this educational and fun filled event.

Her book Greek Myths, published by Dorling Kindersley is a beautifully designed and illustrated volume that retells some of antiquity’s most iconic stories for a new generation with pace, clarity and tremendous excitement. One to treasure.


 

RossWelford.png Ross Welford - Years 5-6
Friday 10th June 2022 1.30-2.30pm



Baillie Gifford, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 includes a copy of Into the Sideways World RRP: £6.99

Hear from the renowned journalist, tv producer and author with his moving, funny, thrilling and adventured-filled new novel.

Shortlisted for many prestigious awards, including The Costa Book Award and Blue Peter Book Award, this new book is a timely novel set in the future when two 12-year-olds are swept into an alternate, ideal, world where pollution and conflict have been conquered but when they return, no one believes them. With a global war pending they are in a race against time to save their world. Intelligent, topical, well-crafted and impressive this novel will give our older children an afternoon to remember.


 

AlakePilgrim.jpg Alake Pilgrim - For Years 5, 6 and 7
Friday 10th June 2022 1.30-2.30pm

Robert Graves Tent, Wimbledon Common
FREE by invitation - Attendees will also receive a free BookFest subsidized copy of Zo and the Forest of Secrets by Alake Pilgrim

Join Alake as she visits us from the US to promote her exciting new book – Zo and the Forest of Secret.

Alake will take children on an adventure with Zo through the wild landscapes of Trinidad where nothing is quite what it seems Featuring unique characters, creatures, legends, and landscapes from the Caribbean, and exploring themes of friendship, eco- consciousness and influenced by Afro-futurism.


RossMackenzie.png Ross MacKenzie - Year 7
Monday 13 June 2022 10.30-11.30am


Baillie Gifford Big Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 include a copy of The Colour of Hope RRP: £7.99

The brand new magical adventure from Ross MacKenzie, the award-winning author of Evernight.

Be introduced to this captivating story of a brave girl struggling to find her place in a world where her very appearance puts her in danger. The world of Dominion is cursed. Years ago, the Emperor and his followers stole all the colour from the world keeping it for themselves, enjoying its life- giving power while everyone else must exist in cold shades of grey. That is until a miracle baby is born - a little girl who lives in brilliant colour

Offering a tale of love, resilience, adventure and hope - a sure hit event for all.


 

David.png David Wood: The See-Saw Tree - Year 3

Monday 13 June 2022, 10.30-11.30am


Robert Graves Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £15 includes a copy of The See-Saw Tree RRP £11.99

Festival Patron and acclaimed children’s playwright David Wood OBE has written more than 20 books for children. He is best known as ‘the national children’s dramatist’ and his plays are performed world-wide, including adaptations of 8 Roald Dahl stories

Based on David Wood’s celebrated play of the same name, this eco aware book covers a very topical subject matter, in light of the felling of historic trees to make way for HS2. It relates the story of an ancient tree used as a see saw by generations of children and the fight to stop it being felled to keep it for the children and creatures that use and live it. An inspirational story of note for all young (and old) conservationists and ecologists.


 

JacquelineWilson.png Jacqueline Wilson - Year 3
Monday 13 June 2022, 1.30-2.30pm


Baillie Gifford Big Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.5O including a copy of a The Magic Faraway Tree book RRP: £12.99

One of Britain’s bestselling and most beloved children’s authors. Jacqueline Wilson has written more than 100 books, selling over 40 million copies and is a former Children’s Laureate.

At this fabulous event Jaqueline will transport readers back to the irresistible and much- loved world of Enid Blyton’s Enchanted Wood. There are new and familiar faces to meet and a whole new set of fantastical worlds to explore at the top of The Magic Faraway Tree in this new interpretation of this much- loved children’s classic.


 

Banking.jpg Rupal Patel and Jack Meaning: Economics Made Simple - For economics and business students
Monday 13 June 2022, 5-6pm


Robert Graves Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £10

Two economists from the Bank of England’s team explain what economics can — and can’t — teach us about the world.

This event promises to be a fun and accessible crash course in economics and why it matters. Suitable for both the public wanting to understand the way finance works as well as students studying or considering the subject for GCSE, A-level or undergraduate level.


PhilEarle.png Phil Earle - Years 5-6
Tuesday 14 June 2022, 10.30-11.30am


Baillie Gifford Big Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 includes a copy of While the Storm Rages RRP: £7.99

Phil Earle, The New Book Award Winner, author of When the Sky Falls, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and The British Book Award for Children’s Fiction.

Join Noah in an unforgettable wartime mission to save his beloved dog, Winn. In 1939, Noah’s dad goes to war and asks Noah to keep the family dog safe. Yet Noah’s hopes of doing that are crushed when the government advises people to put pets down as part of the war preparations. With his two friends in tow, he makes a pledge to go on the run and save as many animals as he can. A truly brilliant historical novel based on true events and a story of courage and resilience and exceptional animals.


AlexWheatle.png Alex Wheatle - Years 7-8

Tuesday 14 June 2022 1.30-2.30pm


Robert Graves Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 includes a copy of Kemosha of the Caribbean RRP: £7.99

Alex Wheatle, author of Cane Warriors, Crongton Heights and Brixton Rock. Alex was a writer in the acclaimed BBC Series, Small Axe, created by the artist and director Steve McQueen. His own story of growing up in care featured as one of the episodes.

Alex’s new novel is a swashbuckling adventure with a fierce LGBT black heroine called Kemosha who has lived her whole life in slavery facing daily rough and brutal treatment. This novel tells the exciting and inspiring story of how she tries to escape, and also free her brother, and all her swashbuckling adventures on the way. A tale of strength, pirates, resilience, friendships, endurance, love and joy. Alex shares this story and his own of becoming a writer having experienced many challenges.


 

RobBiddulph.png Rob Biddulph - Year 4
Tuesday 14 June 2022 1.30-2.30 pm


Baillie Gifford Big Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 including a copy of Peanut Jones & the Illustrated City book RRP: £7.99 Join the Guinness World Record-breaking, award-winning and bestselling author/illustrator for Peanut Jones and the Illustrated City.

The first in a brand-new adventure series for boys and girls. Drawing feels like magic to Peanut Jones, but art can't fix her problems. Her dad has gone missing, and she's stuck in a boring new school. Until the day she finds a unique pencil turbo-charged with special powers. Suddenly she's pulled into a world packed with more colour, creativity, excitement and danger than she could ever have imagined.

The event will include a draw along with Rob #DrawWithRob.


ElleMcNicol.png Elle McNicoll - Year 7
Wednesday 15 June 2022 1.30-2.30pm

Baillie Gifford Big Tent, Wimbledon Common
Tickets: £12.50 including a copy of Like a Charm book RRP: £6.99

From Ellie McNicoll, the multi-award-winning Scottish author of A Kind of Spark, comes this amazing new novel. Elle is an advocate for better representation of neurodiversity in books and storytelling.

Like a Charm is the first book in a compelling, fantasy duology. Featuring Elle’s trademark compassion and celebration of difference as she continues her pursuit of representation for all in children’s fiction by centring a dyspraxic protagonist called Ramya. A fun, inclusive and exciting book event full of emotion and heart showing us how to be resilient and inclusive and celebrate difference in all its forms.