Graves image white 230

Robert Graves Poetry Prize 2018

In partnership with Roehampton University


Judges: David Harsent and Peter Straus


Sponsored by Marcus Beale Architects


£1000 prize for winning entry
Submissions now closed


Following the success of last year, the Robert Graves Poetry prize is accepting submissions. A collaboration between the Roehampton Poetry Centre, based at the university, and Wimbledon Bookfest, the prize is generously sponsored by Marcus Beale Architects.

The prize is unrestricted by location, genre, or subject, and is open to everyone. The Prize will be given to the best single poem submitted, multiple entries are encouraged but poems will be judged separately.

The winner will be announced at a special prize giving event at Wimbledon Bookfest, with whom the University is an official partner. The winner will receive £1000 and two runner ups will receive £100. All three of the winners will be published in POEM magazine, the Roehampton Poetry Centre’s annual journal.

Last year’s prize was won by Octavia Lamb with her poem Ivor Gurney Goes to War.

The prize was named after poet, historical novelist and critic Robert Graves and offers an opportunity for emerging and established poets to be recognised for their skill by the one of country’s leading centres for poetry, and renowned charity festival.

The 2018 Robert Graves Prize will be awarded at Wimbledon BookFest.
For tickets for the Wimbledon Bookfest click here.

If you have any questions please contact


Note: We do encourage multiple entries, and each entry will be judged separately. The poems should be single-spaced and no longer than 40 lines. This prize is open to global entries and poems need to be written in English, be original and unpublished at the time of submission. Entries that are sent to us without the PayPal receipt number will not be accepted, so please remember to put the receipt number on each of your entries. Poems must be submitted in a word document, and if sending multiple entries be attached in individual documents. Entries after August 15th will not be entered into the competition.


Sponsored by Marcus Beale Architects