How to Enter


The 2020 Robert Graves Poetry Prize is now closed for 2020

  • Participants can enter up to four poems, but each will be judged separately.
  • The poems should be single-spaced and no longer than 40 lines
  • Poems need to be written in English, be original and unpublished at the time of submission
  • This prize is open to global entries

The Prize costs £5 per entry, however anyone taking part in the Under 19’s competition can submit up to two poems for free.

How to enter:
1) Please pay your entry fee via the PayPal link below and record the Paypal ref.
2) Email your entries to

and quote your Paypal payment ref.
3) Under 19’s should submit poems to be considered to and state your date of birth with your entry.

Closing date for entries is 31 July 2020. The winners will be announced during Wimbledon BookFest 2020 in October.

If you have any questions please contact

Past Winners:
2019 Winner: Andre Mangeot – ‘Scrimshaw’. Runners up: Sharon Black - ‘Surprisingly’ & Mark Fiddes – ‘El Pacto De Olvido
2018 Winner: Clive Watkins for his poem 'Mirror, Mirror'.
2017 Winner: Octavia Lamb, 'Ivor Gurney Goes to War'.

The Judges:
Paul O’Prey is former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Roehampton, London, and a Professor of Modern Literature. After studying at Oxford in the 1970s, he spent time assisting the poet Robert Graves at his home in Mallorca. He has edited Graves’s Selected Poems for Penguin, Graves’s essays on poetry, as well as two volumes of his correspondence with other writers.

Bridget Minamore is a British-Ghanaian writer from south-east London. She is a poet, critic, dramaturg, teacher, and journalist, and a regular contributor to The Guardian about theatre. Titanic (Out-Spoken Press), her debut pamphlet of poems on modern love and loss, was published in May 2016.

Peter Straus is a literary agent and founder of The Lost Man Booker Prize. His authors have won every literary acclaim, from the Booker to the Nobel Laureate. His extensive author list includes household names such as Carol Ann Duffy, Kate Atkinson, Kazuo Ishiguro and Colm Toíbín.

PauloPrey80x113.jpg BridgetMinamore80x113.jpg PeterStraus80x113.jpg